James D Wolfensohn Award

James D WolfensohnThis biennial international person with MS award, established in 1994, recognises the valuable contribution people with MS make, or have made, to the worldwide fight against MS. The award is named after former MSIF President, James D. Wolfensohn. Candidates for the award must be nominated by national MS societies.

The winner is awarded UK£500 towards the cost of any suitable product, service or activity identified at the nomination stage, which will contribute to a relevant local, regional or national project or programme. In addition, the award winner, and a travelling companion, will receive a travel grant to attend the biennial MSIF Council Meeting. The winner will be presented with an MSIF certificate in recognition of their commitment and dedication and will be invited to make a short speech.

All candidates will receive a MSIF certificate in acknowledgement of their nomination.

The objectives of the award are to:

  • recognise the valuable contributions of people with MS within national MS societies and throughout MSIF
  • enhance the influence and position of people with MS within national MS societies,
  • give national MS societies the opportunity to offer a national award for people with MS
  • invite, encourage and promote the participation of people with MS at the biennial MSIF Council, Board and Committee Meetings

2011 winner, Allen O'Connor

Allen O’Connor, from Shanballymore, County Cork, is the winner of the 2011 James D. Wolfensohn Award for International Person with MS. Allen, who has been living with MS since 1985, has held a number of leadership positions in disability organisations both in Ireland and internationally. 

The next James D. Wolfensohn award will be given in 2013.

Previous winners:

2009    Ninfa Monarres Madrid, Mexico
2007    Ann Langley, Australia
2005    Izabela Odrobińska, Poland
2003    Egon Hirt, Germany
2001    Oriana García Santander, Chile
1999    Maureen Dickson, UK
1997    Linda Dunne, Australia
1996    David Pearse, UK
1995    Anne Belohorec, Canada
1994    Carmita López, Uruguay